Tags

, , , , , , ,

6 Gee Lotte-Hansen-2007-candle_group[1]

I have never been one of those girls with an extensive fragrance wardrobe. I generally have one or two scents that I alternate at any time. Of course, over the years, what these scents are have changed massively. Tommy Hilfiger Girl anyone? Currently, at the time of deciding to go vegan, my top 3 fragrances are Viktor & Rolf Flowerbomb, Yves Saint Laurent Parisienne and Maison Martin Margiela. All owned by L’Oreal.

I have always known that L’Oreal is infamously intertwined with animal testing. And I have always known that LLPD (L’Oreal Luxury Product Division), who licenses these fragrances, are just that- a division of L’Oreal. Of course I know that, they are a client of mine at work! But, but… But, well?

Well what. Well, ever since I started researching veganism in earnest and started reading about what animal testing actually is, I feel like I am literally spraying blood every time I spritz myself. And I don’t want to do it any more.

Unfortunately, there doesn’t seem to be too many high end commercial fragrances out there that are completely cruelty free. LLPD takes up a good chunk of the market, as does Elizabeth Arden and Estee Lauder (who of course are continuing to trade in China despite the recent changes in the law that requires all finished cosmetics be tested on animals.) PUIG (Prada, Comme De Garcons, Nina Ricci) and the LVMH group (Givenchy, Dior, Kenzo) are two large fragrance houses that are cruelty free.

The good news is, however, that since these fragrances are so lucrative and mass produced the use of animal derived-ingredients is rare. Synthetically manufactured ingredients such as musk are far more cost effective. Vegans rejoice!

Kai has always been one of my favorite scents, although I have never gotten around to splurging on owning it. Knowing it is cruelty free and vegan simply catapulted the fragrance to the top of my wish list.

Le Labo is, at least in my view, the king of perfumery. Every ingredient is hand sourced in Grasse, France, (aka the birthplace of perfume) from high quality flowers, plants and spices. Each bottle sold is uniquely blended and labelled with a personalised message for the customer. You are never going to through that bottle away. You will never have the same scent as anyone else. It is worth the investment.

For now, until I magically stumble across some extra funds, I am just going to have to git my teeth as I spritz on my once loved perfumes and try not to picture acid burning into the retina of some defenceless rabbit.

